Strawberry Coconut Margarita Pops

straw pops

I’m pretty sure this wont be the last no bake treat you see on this blog in the coming months. The temperature outside is starting to go up and that means that so is the temperature in my little apartment. If I had central AC it would be fine but at this moment I am making due with a little window unit in my bedroom that chugs and chugs away like the little engine that could to cool my apartment down.

No central AC …..How do you survive in this heat! I guess I just do…am I happy about it no especially since its just the beginning, we haven’t even gotten to the insane 100 degree weather of the summer, but you learn to make due. I was promised the issue would be resolved when I moved in and that was almost 2 years ago so at this particular point I’ve just accepted it and found other ways to try to beat the heat plus I’m hoping to move this year anyway. I’m guessing its one of those things that they just label “I’m working” on it and add it to a list of other stuff that their “working on”. But let’s just say I don’t really look forward to turning on my oven that much on those particularly hot days.

 

But on the bright side, it leaves me open to finding and sharing recipes that don’t require me to turn on the oven and do require me to get a little creative. I also figured out how I know I’m a hardcore baking addict ….when the heat gets bad it pretty much turns my little apartment into a giant proof box…. So it kind of makes me itch to bust out some bread recipes. Nuts, right!?

 

The ideas for these pops actually came from a drink recipe I was and still am working on. The flavor combo was so amazing together that I knew I wanted to do something else with these it. It finally clicked when I looked up and saw some popsicle molds that I had scored a while ago during one of my thrift store raids. I have been dying to use ever since I bought them, and what is better on a hot day than an ice pop.

Just as a side note let me mention that I am completely and totally in love with my ice pop molds now that I finally got a chance to use them. It might actually be dangerous because now I am constantly fighting the urge to make everything into ice pops just so I can use them (meatloaf ice pops …hmmm….probably not a good idea).

 

 

These Strawberry Coconut Margarita Ice Pops are everything you need for a cool refreshing treat, and the best part is that they are super easy to put together. You basically just dump everything into the blender, stir in a little vanilla, lime zest and a little coconut flakes (optional) freeze and devour!

 

Strawberry Coconut Margarita Pops

 

1 can Coconut milk (the full-fat sweetened kind a.k.a the good stuff)

½ cup Vanilla Greek Yogurt

½ cup sugar

½ cup honey

1 pint strawberries (washed, hulled and chopped)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Zest and juice of one lime

½ cup sweetened coconut flakes (optional)

 

1. In blender combine Coconut milk, Greek yogurt, sugar, honey, vanilla strawberries and lime juice and blend until smooth and combined.

 

2. Pour the mixture through a strainer into a large bowl. Stir in the lime zest, vanilla and coconut flakes (if using).

 

3. Transfer the mixture to a pitcher or large measuring cup, this makes it easier to pour the mixture into Popsicle molds and freeze for 4 to 6 hours but overnight is the best.

 

straw pop2

 

Leave a Reply

