Red Velvet Waffles

red velvet waffle1

I guess I should talk about the magic that is Red Velvet Cake for a minute. If you’re from the south like I  am you have had just about every variation of it. Actually Red Velvet Cake is just one of those classics, so you really don’t even have to be a southerner to have grown up with it. Everyone’s mother, grandmother, great-aunt, first cousin Judy has a red velvet cake recipe. Some people swear by nuts, some people don’t. Some people are heavy on the cocoa, some just add a pinch. Then there’s the butter vs. oil debate and lets not even get into the color (It should be bright red, No it should be dark). It can go on and on, but the point is you have had every version at some point. Fair to say some good and some not so good. It’s just one of those cakes that people get really persnickety about. This is why we will save that debacle for another day and just stick with these amazing waffles for now….

Does anybody else feel slightly guilty eating cake for breakfast? I know I’m a grown lady (which is debatable sometimes) but I still feel a twinge of guilt. Don’t get me wrong im not gonna stop …lol… at this point I have just accepted it. I’m not talking about coffee cake or little dainty glazed tea cakes these are acceptable, im talking about waking up in the morning and remembering you have a delicious and sinful frosted hunk of goodness sitting in your kitchen. This is a judge free zone and because it is I can tell you that yes I have sat at my dining room table with a big hunk of cake and a cup of coffee on a Saturday morning.

So to assuage some of my guilt I decided to just turn one of my favorite cakes into a breakfast food…well…..it’s in the breakfast food family anyway. There are always loopholes people. So yes I made Red Velvet waffles. Red velvet cake meet Waffles…..Waffles meet Red velvet cake. I think you two will be very happy together.

The first time I made these waffle it was really just a whim. My mom was staying over and I knew I was going to make us breakfast in the morning and I was just in the mood to switch it up. So a quick glance in my cabinets and fridge and a look at the shiny new waffle maker my mom had gotten me for my birthday (and also a quick internet search) and Red Velvet Waffle it was. I even whipped up some cream cheese frosting to dollop on the top. I knew it was a winner when I got the thumbs up from mom, especially since red velvet cake is her favorite. So it seems only fitting to share this recipe around Mothers Day.

Red Velvet Waffle

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup cake flour

½ cup cornstarch

2 ½ tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

4 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 ¾ cup buttermilk

1/3 cup butter, melted and cooled

2 teaspoons vanilla

½ teaspoon white vinegar

3 teaspoons red food coloring

 

  1. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, cake flour, cornstarch, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Set aside
  2. Preheat waffle iron
  3. In a medium bowl whisk together buttermilk, eggs, butter, vanilla, white vinegar and food coloring.
  4. Pour the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture and stir gently until combined.
  5. Cook waffles according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Waffles are generally done when they stop steaming or if your waffle iron is similar to mine it has a little light that lets you know when the waffles are done (Gotta love technology!)
  6. You can whip up a batch of cream cheese frosting if you want or just drown them in some good ol Maple syrup. However you decide to eat them Enjoy!
2 comments

  1. blahnikbaker

    Red velvet is always a classic. And I don’t object to cake in the morning lol! Love these waffles!

Leave a Reply

