Chocolate Dipped Shortbread Hearts

heart3

So it seems that time of year is slowly creeping up on us. You know the one. It involves staring at a sea of pink and red in just about every store you enter. Everything is heart shaped and/or covered in chocolate. (FYI: I’m totally all for the covered in chocolate part).  And you can’t walk two feet without tripping over roses, balloons and stuffed animals holding hearts with cutesy messages on them like “I love you Bear-y much”.

Yes good people it is Valentine’s Day and if you’re single like me it can kind of be the pits, but I’ve decided there’s no point in being bitter about it. Valentine’s Day is one those holidays that if you let it can make you feel kind of lonely if you’re not part of a twosome. That’s not what I’m going for this year. I’m going to embrace it and I’m going to celebrate it and I’m going to bake cookies.

heart2

Ill probably take them to work and pass them out. Just because I don’t have a valentine doesn’t mean I can’t spread some love. That’s the outlook I’m trying to go with this year. Focus on the Positive and not the Negative. And who’s to say me being single is a negative thing right now. With all the changes I have going on in my life recently my focus is being pulled in so many directions it really wouldn’t be fair to take on a relationship right now.

So maybe this year I’m not celebrating being part of a couple or having one specific valentine, I still can celebrate the people in my life that I love and they can all be my Valentine. That includes you guys!

And to show you just how much I love you I’m going to share these amazing, buttery shortbread cookies. And because I’m in a festive mood, let’s make them pink and heart shaped. And to show how much I really love you, let’s dip them in chocolate! Your welcome!!

Chocolate dipped shortbread hearts

1 ½  cup all purpose flour

½ cup cornstarch

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter rm temperature

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

2-3 drops pink food coloring (optional)

1 – 12 oz. bag Ghirardelli dark chocolate melting wafers

Sprinkles for decorating

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking powder and salt. Whisk together to combine and set aside.
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer or with a hand mixer cream the butter and powdered sugar until fluffy. Add the vanilla and beat to combine. Add the drops of pink food coloring.
  3. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. Chill the shortbread dough for 30 minutes. ( this is just to make handling dough easier if dough is manageable you can skip this step)
  5.  Place the dough on a lightly floured surface and Roll out  about ½ inch thick and cut out heart shapes.
  6. Place the cookies on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet pan. Place the pan in the refrigerator and let the cookies chill for 30 minutes.
  7. Once the cookies have chilled, bake for 15 minutes or until cookies are set. Place cookies on a wire rack and let cool completely before dipping.

For dipping:

  1. .  To melt, place the Chocolate in top pan of a double boiler or in bowl placed over simmering water. Stir constantly until smooth and melted.
  2. Dip each cooled cookie in the dark chocolate candy coating making sure only to coat half of the cookie. Remove it from the chocolate lifting up, letting the excess drip back into the bowl. Place the dipped cookie on a parchment paper lined sheet pan. Drop a few of your festive sprinkles on top of the chocolate.  Let the chocolate set for about 15 minutes or if you want faster result you can pop them in the fridge until the chocolate is set. Repeat this process with the rest of cookies.

heart1

 

5 comments

  1. It's Me :)

    Just so you know, you don’t have to be single to dread Valentine’s Day! Every time I see those awful bears and chocolates, I cringe. Who thought that a pink holiday was a good idea? Anyhoo, this recipe sounds awesome! Can I use white chocolate? I’m not really a fan of chocolate.

  2. blahnikbaker

    I love your take on Valentines day! I believe that’s the way the day should be spent. Celebrating those you love in your life and we all have lots!! But I could be your Valentine if you can ship some of these to me!! They are so pretty, look delicious and just perfect!

    • mochabakergirl

      Thank you so much!! Lol….id be honored and id love to send you a batch! We can trade because im in love with the Brown Butter Nutella stuffes Salted Chocolate Chip cookies on your blog!!

Leave a Reply

