Biscoff Cake Truffles

btruffle1

So the Biscoff love affair continues with these cake truffles, or “cruffles. I’m not really sure if people are still calling them that.
I originally wanted to post these around Christmas time as part of the Christmas baking “mania”, because I had fully intended to box them up pretty and give them out as gifts. Sadly I did not get to do half as much baking this year as I wanted to, so I guess that just means next year I have to go completely overboard. (Consider this a warning to my friends and family)
I still think these would make a really sweet gift (yes pun intended) for someone, especially a biscoff lover, or just make a batch of em and stuff your face. If I haven’t said it already this is a judge free zone people. I fully intend to stuff my face with a few while binge watching Community DVDs and having inappropriate thoughts about Donald Glover. (Sorry, was that TMI)…. It doesn’t have to be any special reasons just make em because they’re yummy and you want to.
I chose to use white cake mix. It just seemed like it was much easier especially since the cake is going to be crumbled up anyway, but you can definitely use your favorite scratch cake recipe if you have one. It doesn’t even have to be white cake either.
Just as a side note I want to thank those of you who have been supporting the blog. It means more to me than you’ll ever know…..and in 2014 I’m committed to working harder to make it even better. The start of this year brings in a couple of major changes for me and I’m trying to adjust. I just started a new job, a new furry friend, and working towards finding a new place. And I have some cool new things I want to do with the blog. I’m feeling like im in a bit of a chaotic state right now, but im slowly getting it together.

btruffles3

Biscoff Cake Truffles
For the cake:
1 box white mix ( I used Duncan hines)
3 egg white
1 cup water
¼ cup vegetable oil
For the Biscoff frosting:
½ cup Biscoff Spread
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 ½ cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk

1 cup Biscoff cookie crumbs

1-12 oz bag Ghiradelli White Chocolate Melting wafers
½ cup Biscoff cookie crumbs for topping truffles

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 13 x 9 inch baking pan and set aside.
2. In large mixing bowl blend cake mix, water, egg whites and oil at low speed for 30 seconds. Increase speed to medium and blend for 2 minutes. Pour batter into the greased pan and bake for about 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove cake from oven and set aside to cool completely.
3. While cake is cooling. Mix together the frosting.
4. For the frosting: Beat the softened butter, and biscoff spread together until smooth. Add the vanilla. With the mixer on low add the powdered sugar and blend until smooth. Add the milk and blend until smooth.
5. In a large bowl crumble the cooled cake and work with your hands until its in small pieces
6. Scrape ¾ of the frosting and ½ cup Biscoff cookie crumbs into the bowl and stir with rubber spatula or large wooden spoon until well combined. The mixture should hold together if you squeeze a ball of it between your fingers. If mixture seems too dry you can add more of the frosting.
7. Using a small ice cream scoop, scoop out small balls of cake and roll between your palms until smooth round is formed. Place the formed cake truffles on a parchment paper or wax paper lined baking sheet. Once all the truffles are shaped place them in the refrigerator to chill until firm.
8. While the cake truffles are chilling you can melt the white chocolate candy coating. To melt the candy coating place the candy coating in top pan of a double boiler or in bowl placed over simmering water. Stir constantly until smooth and melted.
9. Using a fork dip the cake truffles in the melted white chocolate candy coating. Remove it from the chocolate lifting up, letting the excess drip back into the bowl. Drag the bottom across the lip of the bowl. Place the dipped cake truffle back on the parchment lined paper. Sprinkle the top with Biscoff cookie crumbs. Repeat this process with the rest of the truffles.
10. Refrigerate until set. About 20 minutes.

btruffles2

One comment

  1. blahnikbaker

    Ooooo I love biscoff and I can see myself stuffing my face in these. I love baking just to stuff my face in it…it’s the best!! And I’m excited to see the thing you have in store for the blog. I love your recipes. By the way, it’s my intention to pick my next place of living based on the windows and room for photos…keep that in mind as you look for a new place. Maximum natural light should be a selling point lol!

Leave a Reply

