Chocolate Molasses Crinkle Cookie

Molasses Cookiemakes about 3 1/2 dozen cookies

Do you ever look through your pantry and come across something you bought for a recipe ages ago.  You only needed a little bit and once you used it, it ended up shoved to the back of the pantry or cabinet more than likely never to be used again. This is basically what happened to me when searching through my pantry I found a practically full jar of molasses. So I decided to try my best not to be the waster that I can be sometimes (Hey! Don’t judge I’m working on it) and instantly started to brain storm some ideas for treats I could use molasses in.

The first thing that came to mind was gingersnaps, but I have to say unless they are crushed and used as a crust for something like cheesecake or Alton Brown’s City Ham recipe I’m not really a big fan. But I still liked the idea of a molasses cookie; especially with the holiday season approaching I could always use some new holiday cookie ideas.

Molasses has a very strong and distinct flavor in fact I find kind of harsh, which I guess is why I don’t use it a lot. I figured if I added chocolate it might help to bring help take away some of the harshness, plus I never pass up the opportunity to throw chocolate into a recipe. I took the basic flavors and spices of the traditional molasses cookie and incorporated chocolate and the outcome was amazing. Let’s face it Chocolate makes everything better. The result was a soft and chewy chocolate cookie with a hint of spice. These cookies taste incredible and with the cold weather moving in on some of us are perfect with big cup of hot cocoa!

With the holiday season approaching I know all you awesome people are already in full blown holiday cookie mode, I would love to know what Holiday cookies are you guys making this year?

Chocolate Molasses Crinkle Cookie

1 ½ cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ teaspoon ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

¼ teaspoon cloves

¾ cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

½ cup granulated sugar plus additional 1/3 cup set aside

½ cup light brown sugar

1 egg

¼ cup molasses

1 cup Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirardelli Bittersweet chips)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In medium bowl whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves and set aside.
  3. In bowl of electric mixer combine melted butter, brown sugar and ½ cup granulated sugar. On medium speed mix until well combined and sugar is dissolved (about 3 minutes).  Reduce speed of mixer and add egg. When egg is fully incorporated, turn the mixer off and add the molasses. I find that if I add the molasses with while the mixer is still going most of it ends up around the top sides of the bowl.
  4. Turn the mixer back on low speed and mix until the molasses is fully incorporated. With the mixer still on low speed add the dry ingredients and the chocolate chips and mix until just combined.
  5. Cover mixing bowl with plastic wrap and chill in refrigerator for 1 hour.
  6. Place the remaining 1/3 cup sugar in a small bowl and set aside.
  7. Once dough has chilled using a small ice cream scoop or tablespoon to scoop dough into palm of hand and roll into a ball. Then roll each ball of dough into the small bowl of sugar making sure it is completely coated  and place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet about 1 to 1 1 ½ inches apart. Bake in preheat oven for 9 to 10 minutes. Cookies will be puffy when you remove from the oven but will collapse while they are cooling.
  8. Let cookies cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.
2 comments

Leave a Reply

