Chocolate Banana Coffee Cake with Peanut Butter Streusel

CBcoffeecake2

I wish I could say that every recipe I post is carefully thought out and planned but that’s really not the case. Some of them are and some of them just come from raiding my kitchen and seeing what kind of ideas pop in my head. My mom often calls this “Iron Cheffing”, it’s something we came up with when dinner ideas started to get a little boring and she would send me in the kitchen to raid the fridge and pantry and see what I could come up with to spice things up. It was always fun and we had some pretty creative and delicious dinners.

Although we made this into a fun thing to make dinner more exciting the basic principle came from something my grandmother used to say which is “Stir with what you got”, meaning you make due with what you already have. It applies to so many aspects of life and if you use you would be amazed at the results.  Sometimes I think we get so obsessed with the new and shiny that we often take what we already have for granted.

So when I saw a couple of bananas that needed to be used up sitting on my dining room table I knew I had to come up with something. The obvious choice of course would be Banana bread which I could have made but I felt like I wanted to try something different, plus I’ve been wanting to play with the chocolate, banana and peanut butter flavor combo for a while. So a quick kitchen raid and a quick internet search and you have Chocolate Banana Coffee Cake with a peanut butter streusel topping.

I was so excited about how good this coffee cake came out and if you follow me on instagram you know just how excited. I was posting pictures of this baby left and right. There’s this possibly dorky giddy feeling I get when I bake something new especially when it’s a success. I can’t wait to share it and I will definitely be making it again.

CBcoffeecake

Cake

2 ¼ cup all purpose flour

½ cup cocoa powder

2 ½ baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

¾ cup unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

¾ brown sugar

3 eggs

1 ½ teaspoon vanilla

½ cup banana, mashed ( 3 medium sized bananas)

1 cup sour cream

Streusel ( recipe from  Bake or Break)

½ cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons light brown sugar

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1/8 teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Generously spray a 9 inch springform pan.
  2.  For the streusel: In a medium bowl combine the flour, peanut butter, sugars, melted butter and salt. Mix with fork until crumbly.
  3. In bowl of electric mixer cream the butter, sugar and brown sugar on medium high speed until fluffy. Add the eggs one at time, making sure each egg is fully incorporated. Add the vanilla. Add the banana and sour cream. Add the flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. Scrape batter into prepared springform pan and sprinkle the peanut butter streusel over the top.
  5. Bake for 55 minutes. Cake should spring back when lightly touched or toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean. Let cool for about an hour before attempting to remove from springform pan.
3 comments

  1. blahnikbaker

    What a great idea!! Raiding the fridge and pantry and stirring up what you have. You have to love grandmothers for their wisdom. I love this combination very much girl. Bananas and chocolate and coffee just rock together. The coffee cake looks moist too. So glad it came together so well.

  2. Samantha

    That topping looks deadly! Really delicious!
    I’d love to see a few more pictures of it as well. Just to drool a little more on my keyboard 😛
    I could probably eat this whole cake with a bottle of cream, not even gonna lie. I love seeing recipes that people say they’ll make again, that’s a real test of how good it was.
    Sam x

    • mochabakergirl

      Thank you so much for the kind words….lol and the drool! That topping is truly insane….you would love it! If you ever try it out please. Let me know….i would love to hear about it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

