Mocha Chocolate Chunk Muffins with Mocha Cream Cheese Swirl

Mocha Muffin

Recipe inspired by Sally Baking Addiction

I know this title is mouthful but stay with me here.   So I’ve been on this crazy muffin kick lately. I have no idea why and I’m sure as heck not fighting it. The idea for these muffins came from my experience with the Latte Blast Cake from Publix. One evening after a long day of work I stopped in on my way home looking for something to satisfy my sweet tooth and also as a reward for a particularly rough day. I strolled past the pretty gourmet case and a sale sign caught my eye. The description alone had me basically drooling, moist layers of rich yellow cake filled and covered with a mocha cream cheese frosting. Who wouldn’t want that? I took one bite and I swear I almost cried, it wasn’t so much the cake as it was THAT FROSTING! It was AMAYZING! As a coffee lover and a cream cheese lover it really blew my mind and couldn’t believe I had never crossed paths with this combo before. Although this cake was amazing as I took bite after “slap somebody good” bite I couldn’t help but think how great these flavors would be in a muffin. Or maybe I just wanted an excuse to eat mocha cream cheese frosting for breakfast. Could be a little of column A could be a little of Column B but either way the outcome was this delicious coffee and chocolate flavored muffin with a freaky good mocha cream cheese swirl.

Mocha Cream Cheese Swirl

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

3 Tablespoons granulated sugar

1 Teaspoon espresso powder

½ Teaspoon vanilla

Mocha Chocolate Chunk Muffin

Makes 8 Jumbo muffins

2 cups plus 2 Tablespoons flour

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 Tablespoon dark cocoa powder ( I used Hershey’s special dark)

4 Teaspoons baking powder

1 Tablespoon Espresso Powder

1 ½ Teaspoon salt

2 eggs, room temperature

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup oil

½ cup strong brewed coffee, cooled to room temperature

½ cup chocolate milk

1 Teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or favorite chocolate bar, chopped)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line Jumbo Muffin Pan with paper liners or heavily spray with non-stick spray.

For Cream Cheese Swirl:

In the bowl of an electric mixer beat the cream cheese, sugar, espresso powder and vanilla together until smooth. Spoon the mixture into a plastic storage bag and snip one corner. Set aside. ( If you don’t want to  dirty your mixer, with a little muscle you can just stir everything until its smooth with a spoon and a medium sized bowl.)

For the Muffins :

  1. In a large bowl whisk together the flour, unsweetened cocoa powder, dark cocoa powder, baking powder, espresso powder and salt.
  2. In a medium sized bowl whisk together the eggs, sugar and brown sugar until smooth. Slowly whisk in the oil, coffee, chocolate milk and vanilla. Whisk until combined.
  3.  Pour the wet ingredients into the large bowl of dry ingredients and using a rubber spatula gently fold until you don’t see any more streaks of the dry ingredients. Do not mix until completely smooth, you will see some lumps and it’s perfectly fine.
  4. Using a smaller bowl, sprinkle the chocolate chips with a little flour (about 2 Teaspoons), and toss them around to make sure they are thoroughly coated. (It’s not mandatory but I find it helps keep the chocolate chips from sinking to the bottom).  Gently fold the flour coated chocolate chips in to the batter.
  5. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins, filling them until they are ¾ of the way full. Take the mocha cream cheese mixture in the storage bag and squeezing through the open corner that has been cut pipe large squiggly line over the top of the muffin batter.  You can really make whatever lines or designs your heart desires, I just chose these squiggly lines because I though it looked cool. Next time I may do a spiral design.
  6. Place muffins in 425 degree oven for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake for 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  7. Once muffins are done remove from oven and allow muffins to cool in pan 10 minutes then move to a wire rack to cool completely.  Or just scarf one down hot and fresh from the oven, that’s what I did and no I am not ashamed!

Although these muffins are delicious at room temperature they are even better toasted in the oven for a few minutes before eating! And they freeze well too!

2 comments

  1. You Know Who I Am!

    Just so you know, I am extremely excited that you’re my bestest friend, because you are for sure making these the next time I see you :)These sound delicious and I don’t even eat chocolate!

Leave a Reply

