Homemade Bagels

Homemade Bagels

I love bread!! I really really love bread! Especially warm and slathered in butter, not the healthiest but we all have our vices. I decided to embark on the task of homemade bagels for a couple of different reasons. The first being that I have always wanted to be able to master them at home because 9 times outta 10 homemade is way better than store bought. Second being that with such a simple ingredient list it just seems more economical (that is if you have the time and patience) than the store bought. And the Mocha Baker Girl is definitely on a budget right about now so ECONOMICAL GOOOD!!

I love the bagels chewy texture very similar to that a soft pretzel (which I love so much, don’t even get me started). In bagel making you would think the most intimidating part of it would be working with yeast, but that wasn’t the scary part for me. I’m not really scared of working with yeast. I’ve played with it so much over the years and I’ve had triumphs and failures but at this point I’m kind of comfortable with it. The Intimidating part for me was the boiling process. It just seemed like so much… basically like a recipe for disaster (*clears throat*…..no pun intended).

So Homemade bagels just went on the “One Day List” and  I could be wrong but I think all of us foodie types people have a “one day list”  or you may call it something else but it’s basically a list of stuff you want to make but are too intimidated to try. It could be anything from Coq Au Vain to Homemade croissants. I finally got the courage when my intense need for pretzel buns for my burger outweighed my fear of the dreaded boiling process. Thanks stomach. And guess what? , it wasn’t that bad. So yes I used pretzel buns as my gateway, they turned out great and my burger was amazing and I was left feeling like I can do this.

Although my favorite bagel of all time is the Everything bagel I decided to keep it as simple as possible for now but my next batch will definitely be everything.

Homemade Bagels

1 cup warm water (110 -115 degrees)

1 package Active Dry yeast

2 Tablespoons Sugar

1 Tablespoon Corn Syrup

1 Tablespoons Molasses

1 Tablespoon Oil

2 Teaspoons salt

2 ¼ +2 Tablespoons Bread Flour

Boiling Solution

12 cups water

1 Tablespoon Baking Soda

1 Tablespoon Molasses

Cornmeal for dusting

  1. Pour warm water into the bowl of an electric mixer and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let mixture stand for 5 to 10 minutes or until foamy. To the yeast mixture add Corn Syrup, Molasses, Sugar, Oil, Flour and salt. Using the dough hook attachment mix on low speed until combined and shaggy dough begins to form. Increase speed to medium high and knead for 10 minutes until dough is elastic and smooth. Turn mixture into a large greased bowl and cover with a damp towel or plastic wrap. Place in a warm dry place to proof for 30 to 45 minutes or until doubled in size.
  2. When dough has doubled in size, gently push down to remove excess air and divide the dough into 8 equal pieces. Roll each piece into a ball. Taking one finger , coat it in flour and press it into the center of one of the balls of dough (making a hole in the center) and  gently stretch to about 2 inches in diameter by twirling the dough around your finger or just gently pushing out from the center. Repeat this process with each ball of dough.
  3. Place each formed bagel on a sheet pan that has been lined with parchment paper, greased and sprinkled with cornmeal. Cover with damp towel or gently with plastic wrap and let sit for 15 to 20 minutes.
  4. Fill a large pot with the 12 cups of water and bring to a boil and stir in Molasses and Baking Soda. Very gently place bagels in boiling water only about two at a time and let boil for 1 minute, flip bagel over and let boil for 1 minute on the other side. Using a slotted spoon remove bagels from water and try to let as much excess water drain off as possible.
  5. As you remove bagels from water you can place them back onto the greased cornmeal sheet pan.  At this point if to have any toppings such as poppy seeds or sesame seeds you can sprinkle them onto the bagels. Place in a 400 degree oven and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
Leave a Reply

