Chocolate Crispy Rice Treats with Coconut and Pecans

choc crispy rice

Father’s day was Sunday (Happy Belated Father’s Day!) and like the rest of the world I wanted to do something special.  My stepdads favorite dessert of all time is German Chocolate Cake. And my loved ones can tell you anytime there’s a special celebration (birthdays, Christmas, mother’s day, etc) I never miss the opportunity to make their favorite.  I tend to love people with food…I haven’t figured out if it’s a foodie thing or a southern thing although I guess it could be a little of both.

Last week for me was absolutely insane. I’m talking crazy hectic and father’s day kind of crept up on me.  I mean I knew it was coming but my insane work schedule left little time do anything but catch a few hours of sleep much less crank out a German Chocolate Cake.  I guess I could have just used a box mix but it just would not have felt the same.  So since his second favorite option is anything with coconut and nuts I decided to try to put what he loves about the cake into something a little easier and a little faster.

Why not a Rice Krispy Treat? They are simple to make, delicious and judging by the interwebs the variations are endless. And the end results were these babies.  A Chocolate Crispy Rice Treat packed with coconut and toasted pecans. Although these were inspired by Father’s Day you can make em anytime…. There’s always room for another awesome Rice Krispy Treat recipe.

Chocolate Crispy Rice Treats with Coconut and Pecans

¼ cup of margarine

2 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder

2 ounces bittersweet chocolate

4 cups mini marshmallows

5 cups Crispy Rice cereal

1 cup shredded coconut, sweetened

1 cup chopped pecans, toasted

1 cup chocolate chips

½ cup caramel bits

  1.  Butter or spray 13×9 inch pan.  In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt margarine. Add cocoa powder and chopped chocolate and stir until well combined and chocolate is melted. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted and mixture is well blended (about 2-3 minutes).
  2. Remove marshmallow mixture from heat and stir in cereal, coconut, pecans, chocolate chips and caramel bits. Stir until everything is well coated.
  3. With a buttered spatula (or I like to spray my hands with nonstick cooking spray)  press mixture evenly into buttered pan. When cooled cut into squares. The normal size to cut them would be  about 2×2 squares but I say you can cut them however big or small you want them.
Leave a Reply

